French Colonial Historical Society Book Prizes

The French Colonial Historical Society/Société d’histoire coloniale française awards two book prizes annually for the best books on French colonial or post-colonial history published during the preceding year.  

The Boucher Prize is awarded in honor of long-time members and active supporters Mary Alice and Philip Boucher and recognizes the best book on the French colonial experience from the 16th century to 1815.

The Heggoy Prize is awarded in honor of FCHS founding member Alf Andrew Heggoy, and recognizes the best book on the French colonial experience from 1815 to the present. 

 Books from any academic discipline will be considered, provided that they approach the French colonial and post-colonial experience from a historical perspective. 

 The deadline for this year’s submissions is February 28, 2022. To obtain addresses to which to send submissions or if you have questions about the submission process, please contact Dr. Elizabeth Heath, Chair of the FCHS Book Prize Committee, at

 Applicants or their publishers should submit four copies of books, one to each committee member. Books must have been published in 2021; date of publication is determined by the copyright page of the book. Please clearly indicate whether the submission is for the Boucher or Heggoy Prize. ​

For more information and to see a list of previous winners, please visit the FCHS/SHCF book prize page

Contact Info: Elizabeth Heath, FCHS/SHCF Book Prize Chair

Contact Email:


OpenEdition suggests that you cite this post as follows:
Agnès Delahaye (January 30, 2022). French Colonial Historical Society Book Prizes. European Early American Studies Association. Retrieved July 20, 2024 from

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Search OpenEdition Search

You will be redirected to OpenEdition Search